Gunter Rubin

Gunter Rubin loved experimenting with pen and paper as a child. Luckily, he was able to develop his talent during his school days and graduated high school with a focus on design. Gunter then studied Communication Design in Nuremberg. He has been living and working as a freelance illustrator in Fürth, Bavaria since 2002.

The main focus of his work are layouts and storyboards. – „With storyboards, it is fascinating to find the one moment that describes the whole situation in one composition. The emotion of the characters, lighting and colour, movement and perspective, all this has to tell the whole story with a few images.” – Generally, Gunter Rubin creates his images as digital illustrations. In Photoshop he is not only able to imitate any analogue techniques like watercolour or charcoal, he can also swiftly implement corrections and modification requests.

Because Gunter Rubin attended courses for video and computer animation during his studies, he is also able to realize explanatory films as a director for various clients. – „Turning a dry topic into something entertaining is a lot of fun!“ – One of his favourite films is a Christmas card for Lamy, developed in collaboration with OgilvyOne.

A big part of his work are caricatures, whiteboard animation and graphic recording. As a live artist Gunter Rubin accompanies workshops in collaboration with consulting agencies. He illustrates individual steps of the process for the participants using Copic markers, pencils and ballpoint pens. Sometimes it takes just an hour, sometimes a live session like that can take two days.

For a big client in Stuttgart the graphic recording for a workshop was spread out over seven boards in five rooms and on three floors. At an international conference Gunter Rubin worked with several simultaneous interpreters. – All this in combination with a theatre performance or as a live broadcast of his graphic recording or illustration would be exciting future projects for the artist!


Gunter Rubin loved experimenting with pen and paper as a child. Luckily, he was able to develop his talent during his school days and graduated high school with a focus on design. Gunter then studied Communication Design in Nuremberg. He has been living and working as a freelance illustrator in...

We use cookies to keep out website functional and cookies to optimize the website performance.

Gunter Rubin

Schon im Kindergarten experimentierte Gunter Rubin mit Stift und Papier. Und wenn sich ein Talent schon so früh zeigt, steht eine künstlerische Laufbahn wohl außer Frage. Zum Glück konnte er während der Schulzeit seine Begabung weiterentwickeln und sein Abitur mit dem Schwerpunkt Gestaltung abschließen. Danach studierte Gunter Rubin Kommunikationsdesign in Nürnberg. Seit 2002 arbeitet und lebt er als selbstständiger Illustrator in Fürth.

Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeiten sind Layouts und Storyboards. „Das Faszinierende an Storyboards ist, den einen Moment zu finden, in dem die ganze Situation in einer Komposition erzählt wird. Die Emotion der Charaktere, Lichtstimmung und Farbigkeit, Bewegung, Perspektive, all das muss am Ende in wenigen Bildern eine ganze Geschichte erzählen.“ In aller Regel kreiert Gunter Rubin diese als digitale Illustrationen. Mit Photoshop kann er nicht nur sämtliche Techniken wie Aquarell oder Kohle imitieren, sondern auch Korrekturen und Änderungswünsche sehr schnell umsetzten.

Da Rubin während seines Studiums Kurse für Video- und Computeranimation belegte, kann er nicht nur als Illustrator, sondern auch als Regisseur Erklärfilme für verschiedene Kunden realisieren. „Es macht einen Riesenspaß, ein trockenes Thema so zu verpacken, dass es kurzweilig anzusehen ist.“ Einer seiner schönsten Filme ist die Lamy-Weihnachtskarte in Zusammenarbeit mit OgilvyOne.

Einen weiteren großen Teil seiner Arbeiten nehmen Karikaturen, Whiteboardanimationen und das Graphic Recording ein. Als Live Artist begleitet der Illustrator in Zusammenarbeit mit Beratungsagenturen Workshops. Mit Copic-Markern, Bleistiften und Kugelschreibern illustriert er für die Teilnehmer die einzelnen Prozessphasen. Manchmal dauert sein Einsatz nur eine Stunde, manchmal kann eine solche Live Session über zwei Tage gehen.

Für einen großen Kunden in Stuttgart verteilte sich das Graphic Recording zum Workshop auf sieben Tafeln in fünf Räumen über drei Stockwerke. Oder auf einer internationalen Konferenz - hier agierte Rubin mit mehreren Simultanübersetzern. „Das Ganze in Verbindung mit einer Theaterperformance oder vielleicht als Liveübertragung eines Graphic Recordings oder einer Illustration“ wären äußerst spannende Zukunftsprojekte für den Künstler.

Schon im Kindergarten experimentierte Gunter Rubin mit Stift und Papier. Und wenn sich ein Talent schon so früh zeigt, steht eine künstlerische Laufbahn wohl außer Frage. Zum Glück konnte er während der Schulzeit seine Begabung weiterentwickeln und sein Abitur mit dem Schwerpunkt Gestaltung abschließen. Danach studierte Gunter Rubin Kommunikationsdesign in...

Wir verwenden Cookies, um den Betrieb unserer Webseite aufrecht erhalten zu können und Cookies, um die Nutzung und das Angebot unserer Webseite zu optimieren.