Ben Rennen

Hamburg-based illustrator Ben Rennen works both analogue on paper and digitally with Adobe Photoshop and Procreate. Ben studied illustration at HAW Hamburg and covers a wide range of styles and themes with his work. In his free illustrations he processes his eventful life, which is reflected in powerful drawings and motifs ranging from dreamy to profound.

Ben is a fast and accurate draughtsman. He starts by brainstorming and captures his initial thoughts in quick scribbles. He prefers to create his illustrations in pencil, later on revising them in Adobe Photoshop. Depending on the project and the subject matter, he often switches to a purely digital way of working after the first analogue sketches, while remaining true to his drawing and painterly style.

His sources of inspiration are daydreaming during a trainride or in a café as well as series and films and the work of other artists. Most of all he likes to draw animals, plants, portraits – and knights! However, it is important to Ben not to serve any gender stereotypes with his work and he attaches great importance to not depicting any prejudices: "I think we bear a certain responsibility for how we depict the world and thus also influence it visually."

He likes to try out new things and is always developing himself and his skills. Therefore his creative spectrum includes not only illustration, but also handlettering and design. Customer satisfaction is just as important to Ben as a good working relationship, because as an illustrator he sees himself not only as an artist, but above all as a reliable service provider.

Hamburg-based illustrator Ben Rennen works both analogue on paper and digitally with Adobe Photoshop and Procreate. Ben studied illustration at HAW Hamburg and covers a wide range of styles and themes with his work. In his free illustrations he processes his eventful life, which is reflected in powerful drawings and...

We use cookies to keep out website functional and cookies to optimize the website performance.

Ben Rennen

Der in Hamburg lebende Illustrator Ben Rennen arbeitet sowohl analog auf Papier als auch digital mit Adobe Photoshop und Procreate. Ben hat an der HAW Hamburg Illustration studiert und deckt mit seinen Arbeiten eine große Bandbreite an Stilen und Themen ab. In seinen freien Illustrationen verarbeitet er sein ereignisreiches Leben, was sich in kraftvollen Zeichnungen und verträumten bis tiefgründigen Motiven widerspiegelt.

Ben ist ein schneller, akkurat arbeitender Zeichner. Er beginnt mit einem Brainstorming und hält seine ersten Gedanken in schnellen Scribbles fest. Seine Illustrationen erstellt er am liebsten mit Bleistift, um diese später in Adobe Photoshop auszuarbeiten. Je nach Projekt und Thematik wechselt er nach den ersten analogen Skizzen oft zu einer rein digitalen Arbeitsweise, wobei er seinem zeichnerischen und malerischen Stil treu bleibt.

Seine Inspirationsquellen sind das Tagträumen während einer U-Bahnfahrt oder in einem Café, aber auch Serien und Filme und die Arbeiten anderer Künstler. Am liebsten zeichnet er Tiere, Pflanzen, Portraits – und Ritter! Ben ist es allerdings wichtig, in seinen Arbeiten keine Genderklischees zu bedienen und er legt großen Wert darauf, keine Vorurteile abzubilden: „Ich denke, dass wir eine gewisse Verantwortung tragen, wie wir die Welt darstellen und damit auch visuell beeinflussen.“

Er probiert gerne Neues aus und entwickelt sich und seine Fähigkeiten stets weiter. Daher umfasst sein Schaffensspektrum nicht nur die Illustration, sondern auch Handlettering und Design. Die Zufriedenheit des Kunden ist Ben ebenso wichtig wie eine gute Zusammenarbeit, da er sich als Illustrator nicht nur als Künstler versteht, sondern vor allem auch als zuverlässiger Dienstleister.

Der in Hamburg lebende Illustrator Ben Rennen arbeitet sowohl analog auf Papier als auch digital mit Adobe Photoshop und Procreate. Ben hat an der HAW Hamburg Illustration studiert und deckt mit seinen Arbeiten eine große Bandbreite an Stilen und Themen ab. In seinen freien Illustrationen verarbeitet er sein ereignisreiches Leben,...

Wir verwenden Cookies, um den Betrieb unserer Webseite aufrecht erhalten zu können und Cookies, um die Nutzung und das Angebot unserer Webseite zu optimieren.